Pheasants on the Amalfi Coast…

I am walking up my beloved stairway to Nocelle as sweat slowly crawls down my back and unimportant thoughts chase each other through my head.  Suddenly I look up and notice standing just in front of me, dressed in an array of beautiful colors a pheasant.  He seems rather bemused at the encounter, and we both stop to stare at each other.

Not knowing what to do I slowly take a few shy steps towards him and as I do he quickly scrambles away.  A pheasant on the Amalfi Coast I ask myself, having lived here for 15 years and never seen one before.

Upon returning to Positano I enquire with a good friend who has a passion for hunting, and to my dismay he nonchalantly tells me The Amalfi Coast if full of them.  I have always associated pheasants with the verdant fields of England, and not these barren hills and dramatic coast, inhabited only by a breed of voracious seagulls.

To make matters worse my friend tells me that the pheasants in this area are part of a repopulation program of the government, and as soon as they are released they all fly towards the sea thinking it is an endless field, only to discover to their dismay that although flat and very large a field it is not, rather a body of cold unwelcoming water. Thus dejected sad and lonely they end up perched on hills probably dreaming of the green fields they were made to live in.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Pheasants on the Amalfi Coast…

  1. KC

    Antonio, how sad that these pheasants aren’t accustomed to the cliffs of the Amalfi Coast. I do wonder if they’ll adjust as time goes on. Animals are brilliant at adapting to new surroundings – much moreso than us humans, I’ve found.

    Sono molto belli gli uccelli. (Is that correct?)

    • Dear Kimberly,

      I am sure they will adapt, they probably already have. I just found it very amusing when I was told they all flocked to the sea thinking they were fields.
      What is so crazy are these repopulation efforts that are made without taking into consideration the natural habitat of the Bird.
      Your italian as always is perfect !!! Complimenti
      Ciao ciao

  2. Mary Lynn

    What a treat to see a pheasant. I think I have only seen one in Northern California close up. They are quite populous there, but shy.

    Antonio, the stairs to Nocelle must be downright magical. I have a long way to go with my slow, steady conditioning before I could attempt them, but I can’t imagine a better inspiration and reward.

    You must be in the most amazing shape. I’ve never been able to work out on exercise equipment, I have to do something enjoyable, and/or necessary. The stairs to Nocelle certainly seem like the best of both worlds.

  3. Giulia

    Ciao Antonio,
    what an unusual encounter!
    I had no idea that pheasants had been released into the wild on the Amalfi coast as part of a repopulation programme.
    I like your interesting short story and I will happily read the following ones you publish.
    Much love,
    Giulia

  4. Dear Antonio,
    I have recently discovered your blog through Ann Leary’s blog and I have thoroughly enjoy your daily tales.

    The steps to Nocello seem to have a magically quality to them. I am looking forward to other little “surprises” from your daily adventure up the steps.

    Ciao,
    Deborah

  5. Antonio, those photos are so rich with color and another great post. Bellissimo!

Leave a Reply

